Team Tuesday

Last night was the first official Mass General Marathon Team meeting! The meeting started off with introductions from the team leaders.  Howard Weinstein, MD is the marathon program founder and our team captain.  This year will be his 25th year running Boston! He started the program off by asking how many of us had never run a marathon before, how many had, and how many had ran last year but were unable to finish because of the bombings.  The amount of people who raised their hand for each category amazed me.  I went in thinking I would be one of the few who had never run before and left feeling like I really had a team of people who were just like me.  Seeing a lot of faces in the crowd who had been stopped at Mile 25 last year hit me hard.  If they are back here doing it all over again after last year, I know that I will find a way within myself to finish alongside them.

We also met our running coach, Dan, from South End Athletic Company, and he created two training schedules for us to follow.  One is for beginners and the other is for intermediates and they both start today!

Happy Tuesday! #Run4MGH

Mass General

Leave a Reply

