7 Before 7

I’m so happy to have a friend who lives a couple blocks away who is down for early morning runs. We made plans to meet at 5:30am in front of Dunkin Donuts in town. As I was running up, I could see all the donuts in the window, and I opened the door to wait for her just inside, and the smell of coffee was so tempting. They had to wait, though. We had work to do! I like to consider myself a morning person, but my friend Liz is seriously the most friendly person I know at 5:30am. This morning our route took  us down and up a couple little hills in Manhasset town, through Plandome, and back up my favorite street, Heights. We chatted about our kids, Christmas shopping, our families crazy shopping habits, and before I knew it, 4 miles had passed and we were back in town. There was hardly any ice on the actual roads, so we stuck to roads with no cars on them and ran right down the middle. It was a really great 4 miles, and the weather had us both pretty warm.

As I turned down my street, my legs felt really strong. My daughter had a special day at school this morning, so I wasn’t taking my usual 8:16am train to NYC, and had a little bit more time than I usually have in the morning. SO I just kept running, and did another 3 miles!

Weeeeeeee

Weeeeeeee

7 miles before 7am. Done and done. Now bring on that coffee….

* Marissa and I are training for the 2014 Boston Marathon as part of the Mass General Hospital Marathon team. We are raising money for the pediatric cancer center. Please consider making a donation to this wonderful cause. THANK YOU! *

Leave a Reply

