CrossFit Endurance & Weekend Treadmill Workout

We got a ton of snow this weekend, so Marissa and I had to resort to the treadmill. I really don’t mind it that much, but I couldn’t imagine running more than 6 miles on it. On Friday, we both ran a tempo 4 miler on our respective treadmills. Here in NY, our friends who live a couple blocks away have a nice set-up in their basement, and are so generous to let me crank some music and use their treadmill. Today I paid my “gym membership” in banana bread.

I have been following a couple training plans for this marathon. I take the Mass General Marathon training plan and cross reference it with CrossFit Endurance, which is then cross-referenced with my friend Annie, runner extraordinare. So far I feel like I am getting stronger and faster, so something must be working!

The whole mentality behind CrossFit Endurance is that you don’t need to risk injury by doing LSD (long, slow distances) but can instead train at a higher intensity for shorter amount of times and achieve them same results (or better!). There are some great testimonials on the site, and I feel confident throwing in a good, short, CrossFit-like running workout every now and then. I think this is going to be my saving grace when I am forced inside on a treadmill.

I like wearing my Nike Frees for shorter, faster workouts

I like wearing my Nike Frees for shorter, faster workouts

Today my CrossFit Endurance training plan said: 1 min on, 1 min off for 9 rounds. I was assuming that was 1 minute on at a fast pace, and 1 min off was standing or slowly walking. Its hard to mimic the stop-and-go on a treadmill, but I gave myself 10 seconds on either side to make sure the pace was exactly where I needed it to be to count for a “minute on”. This is how I jacked up the workout:

1 Mile Warm-Up (9:40 pace)
Then,
16 Rounds:
1 Min On (6:00 pace)
1 Min Off (standing on the edge of the treadmill, or walking at a super slow speed on the treadmill)
Then,
1 Mile Cool Down (9:40 pace)

Total Time: 60 mins, and according to the treadmill, exactly 6 miles completed.

Rounds 1-9 weren’t too bad, but then they started getting REAL.  I was a sweaty, runny mess but I LOVED it. The on-and-off strategy kept the time passing quickly and I had a really good playlist going.

Ain't no party like a sweaty-treadmill-selfie party!

Ain’t no party like a sweaty-treadmill-selfie party!

I’ll definitely do this workout again next time I am stuck indoors. CrossFit Endurance also has a workout where its 2 minutes on, and 1 minute off, so I can keep it interesting and change up the intervals.

Snow,  please stay away so I can get another good 10 miles in before my first HALF-MARATHON of 2014 on January 25!!

* Marissa and I are training for the 2014 Boston Marathon as part of the Mass General Hospital Marathon team. We are raising money for the pediatric cancer center. Please consider making a donation to this wonderful cause. THANK YOU! *

One thought on “CrossFit Endurance & Weekend Treadmill Workout

Leave a Reply

