Winter Wednesday: CrossFit

If you’ve been reading our blog, or know anything about me and Roo, or have spoken to us for more than 10 minutes in the past three years, then you know that we love CrossFit. Perhaps a little CrossFit obsessed (in a good way?). CrossFit has definitely changed the way fitness fits into my life, changed the way I think about food, and always keeps me coming back for more.

When I started marathon training back in December, I had high hopes of sticking to a 4 CrossFit/2 runs per week schedule in December and Jan, moving to a 3 CrossFit/3 runs per week schedule in February and March. However, with all this snow and freezing temps, I’m still in the 3 CrossFit/2 runs (one short, one long) per week and its mid-February. Panic?? Hopefully March will bring some 3-runs-per-week weather!

A couple people asked me if I would CrossFit less since I am running more. The truth is, I haven’t at all. I have written about CrossFit Endurance here on the blog before, and I can’t recommend their training program enough for a mid-level CrossFitter who wants to add in more focused running to train for a marathon. The workouts are short and sweet, and FAST and exactly like a WOD but only include running. There is a longer run component built-in once a week, but the real focus is keeping up high speeds for shorter amounts of time and building leg strength. I have been taking it a little slower with things like box jumps (stepping down to avoid any injuries), and insane amounts of squats/thrusters with fully loaded weight just so that I am not too sore to go as hard as possible on my runs. Not going to lie though, the squat program that we’ve been doing at CrossFit 516 has been CRAZY good. Never in my life did I think that I could run a half-marathon and have my THIRTEENTH MILE be my fastest one. Thank you, squatting. Here is what we did today:

gotta love a 20 min AMRAP

gotta love a 20 min AMRAP

It was a GOOD ONE!

OOTD: Lululemon persimmon CRB, Run: Pace crops, Nike Free+

OOTD: Lululemon persimmon CRB, Run: Pace crops, Nike Free+

* Meredith and I are training for the 2014 Boston Marathon as part of the Mass General Hospital Marathon team. We are raising money for the pediatric cancer center. Please consider making a donation to this wonderful cause. THANK YOU! *

Leave a Reply

