NY Weekend Workouts

Since I slept in on Friday, neither Saturday or Sunday could be rest days. I didn’t really mind though, since the nice weather was finally here. Here is what I did this weekend:

Saturday: 45 min run at 90% tempo. Not gonna lie. This was brutal. My first mile was 8:17 (more like 100%, than 90%!) and each mile thereafter was SLOWER. Not the negative splits that I wish I could have hit. I had to stop once, catch my breath and regain composure (which totally kills my confidence) but when it was all said and done, I ran 5.5 miles at an 8:35 pace. My speed is definitely improving this winter!

fave new hat from my dad

fave new hat from my dad

Sunday: 6 X 3 min max effort, 3 min rest after runs 1,3,5 and 1 min rest after runs 2,4 I really liked this workout. There is a street nearby that is long and ever-so-inclined, so I started there. Up and down the street once was about 3 minutes, and I really liked knowing exactly how much further I had to push myself on each run. Those 1 minute recoveries were NOT enough!!

I am tapering a little this week, because I am running the NYC Half on Sunday. I’ll post this week about my thoughts and goals going into that race.

Leave a Reply

