My View From The Sidelines.

Its been one month since the Boston Marathon, and to say that I took a break from running is putting it lightly. Aside from the Long Island Half (which might not have been the best idea, in retrospect), I’ve just done a few short runs with CrossFit mixed in for the past four weeks. I definitely feel that I’ve lost a little on the endurance end, so starting next week, I’m going to get my mileage back up and focus on a more rigid summer training schedule. It would be nice to start 2015 Boston Marathon training (yep, I’m going BACK) in December with some decent mileage under my belt.

In May, I traveled to Florida, New Orleans, and Raleigh, and have one more week up in Boston before we head to San Francisco/Napa for a long weekend. While I’m on the road, one of my favorite ways to check out a new city (NoLa and Raleigh for me) is to go for a run. If you ask the concierge at most major hotels, they can usually point you in the right direction.

In taking a little mileage break for May, I realized how important it is to rest, give yourself a break, and really enjoy the miles that you can squeeze in. Ellie, Emily and I cheered KJ on while he rocked the Don Scott 5k in Manhasset last weekend. Normally we would have both run it together, he pushing the girls in the stroller, me trying to out-compete everyone else in my age group, but it was actually REALLY exciting to be the cheering section for once! We yelled so loudly as he ran by us at the start, and it was fun to sit with my girls and talk to them about why people were running, the importance of staying healthy and fit, and seeing their smiles and yelps as he came back into view during the final stretch. It was more rewarding than being 3rd place in my age group. It was the best.

Go Dada!

Go Dada!

Leave a Reply

