New York, New York // Team MR8

After the tragedy in Boston in 2013, I wanted to represent my hometown (and my hospital), and pledged to raise $5,000 as part of Mass General Hem/Onc Pediatric Cancer Center. While running the 26.2 miles this past April, I couldn’t help but notice the sea of Team MR8 jerseys, which is the charity that was set up in remembrance of Martin W. Richards, the youngest victim of the Boston Bombings. Team MR8 had over a hundred runners in the Boston Marathon this year, and when I heard that they were looking to build a team to represent the charity for the NYC Marathon this year, I jumped at the opportunity to apply for one of the eight spots.

Screen Shot 2014-08-05 at 10.08.09 AM

There are lots of people in the world who want to run (whether its one mile, or 26.2) but can’t for many different reasons.

I run for those people.

Martin Richards was one of those people.

Screen Shot 2014-08-05 at 10.08.25 AM

 

I am SO excited to announce that my application was chosen, and I’ll be running the NYC Marathon on November 2 as a proud (and honored) member of Team MR8.

If you are so inclined, please donate here.

The Martin W. Richard Charitable Foundation
honors Martin’s message of
No more hurting people. Peace
by investing in education, athletics and community.

Follow along the blogging adventures of marathon training! Always #HudsonStrong!

Screen Shot 2014-08-05 at 10.08.16 AM

One thought on “New York, New York // Team MR8

Leave a Reply

