Week 3 | Brooklyn Half-Marathon Training

I had to shuffle my running schedule around this week as we headed down to Florida for a wedding. Here is how the week looked:

Monday – CrossFit: 1 mile run for a warm-up, back squat progression, and then:

12 minute AMRAP
7 thrusters with a 1 sec pause at the top of each rep (95/65)
7 burpees
14 lateral hops

Tuesday – Tempo Tuesday! This was probably my best run of April. I ran 1 warm up mile, 3×8:20, 1 cool down mile and saw the most gorgeous rainbow.

if this isn't a good sign, I don't know what is!

if this isn’t a good sign, I don’t know what is!

Wednesday – REST. Between the squats on Monday, and the hilly tempo run on Tuesday, my quads were SCREAMING. It hurt to just walk. I foam-rolled and stretched as much as possible.

Thursday – 4×4 Deadlifts, then

For time:
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 of:
strict pull ups
sumo dead lift high pull

Friday – Unexpected rest day, which should have been a run but we were traveling in the morning and then had to get right to the rehearsal for the wedding weekend.

Saturday – When I travel, one of my favorite things to do is go for a nice long run to check out the area. All week i was looking forward to a nice long Florida run, and Saturday morning did not disappoint. My only regret is sleeping in, because I didn’t actually start running until 10am. It was already getting a little too humid for my liking, and I didn’t bring my fuel belt to carry water. Luckily there were a bunch of public water fountains along my beach route. The run was 8 sunny, Florida miles!

sandy sneaks, thumbs up!

sandy sneaks, thumbs up!

Sunday – Rest and recover from the best wedding ever. Congrats Matt & Esther!

best flower girls ever

best flower girls ever

2 thoughts on “Week 3 | Brooklyn Half-Marathon Training

Leave a Reply

