Week 5 | Brooklyn Half Training

Week 5 was my last week of real work before taper time and race week! Here’s how it went.

Monday – CrossFit – easy 2K recovery row after the Long Island 10K (PR!), some back squats and push-ups.
Tuesday – Fartlek run: 2 mins on, 2 mins off times FOUR. This was a tough workout for me. I warmed up, and when I was hitting the “on” two mins, I was pacing around 7:45/7:50. When I was “off”, a few times I had to walk for 15/20 seconds to get my breathing back under control. ~4 miles of work
Wednesday – REST
Thursday – Tempo Thursday! My splits were 9:39/9:17,8:49, 8:53, 8:45/9:22. This was a pretty hilly morning run, and my last “long” tempo run until the race.

love my driveway art!

love my driveway art!

Friday – Flew down to Florida for vacation, so Friday became an unplanned rest day, even though I was supposed to do around 4 miles of workout. Ya win some, ya lose some!
Saturday – The Players at Sawgrass. No running!

17th Hole at Sawgrass

17th Hole at Sawgrass

Sunday – Mother’s Day run with my mom straight to the best diner in Florida! ~ 4.5 miles

Happy Mother's Day to us!

Happy Mother’s Day to us!

 

Leave a Reply

